Crafty Betty

Project 2 0f 365: My Attempt at “Sunny Day” May 17, 2010

As many of you probably know Michelle Zindorf is AMAZING at making cards with brayer techniques.  You can check out her blog here.  She does tons of tutorials on her techniques, and actually tours parts of the country doing Brayer Classes.  I first stumbled upon her blog when browsing over samples at a site that is for Stampin’ UP! demonstrators only.  I go there almost everyday to get inspiration or see what colors or stamp sets are HOT right now.  Another demonstrator had posted a very similar card and a link to Michelle Zindorf’s site.  I am so glad she did.

I had purchased my Stampin’ UP! brayer well over a year ago and I had yet to even take it out of the package as I hadn’t a clue how to use it, and the longer I left it sitting in its package the more and more I began to truly believe that it was likely just a disaster waiting to happen, and mess that would take too much energy to clean up…..Well thank you Michelle Zindorf…..If I hadn’t seen how she makes the colors just come alive that brayer would still be sitting in its package.

While I still don’t really have a clue about how to “properly” use a brayer I gotta pat myself on the back and say my card looks dang good for someone who just looked at a picture and crossed her fingers.  While Michelle Zindorf does an EXCELLENT job at telling you the step by step of which materials she is using, and the order in which she is doing them…..I couldn’t find any directions on HOW she was actually doing this….i.e….how the heck do I actually roll this darn thing and come up with the magic she does instead of a bunch of smears on the paper where you can actually see where the edge of the brayer was.  Somehow, by what can ONLY be explained as pure magic, once I was finished with the card and had everything assembled, all those brayer edge blemishes have vanished??????

It makes perfect sense why she does not go in-depth in the process of using the brayer….she holds classes where she gets paid to teach these techniques, so it would be counter-intuitive for her to give that info out for free on the internet.  I can’t blame her for that….I’m out here trying to make a buck too 🙂   But if she ever stumbled across my rambling newby blog and felt sorry for this poor girl and wanted to shoot me a few tips I would definitely be all ears.

Well on to the task at hand…..my 2nd project on my quest to 365 Stampin’ Up! projects in 365 days….This is my attempt at Michelle Zindorf’s “Sunny Day” card that she posted just last week.

Remember that you can purchase all the Stampin’ UP! items used in this project HERE.  I have the link set up so that it opens in a new window making it easy for you to see which supplies are used in this window, and locating them in my Stampin’ UP! shop in the other window.

Awash With Flowers Sunny Day Card

My attempt at Michelle Zindorf's "Sunny Day" card

Stampin’ UP! Supplies:

Paper:  Whisper White, Summer Sun, Dusty Durango, and Always Artichoke smooth cardstock

Ink: Dusty Durango, Really Rust (I’m so sad to see you go in July 2010), Always Artichoke, Old Olive, Pumpkin Pie, Basic Black, Green

Galore, and Crushed Curry classic inks. (The last one was supposed to be Summer Sun, but the great friend that I am I loaned that ink

pad to a friend figuring that I wouldn’t need it since it too will be retiring in July 2010.)

Markers: Green Galore, Really Rust, Pumpkin Pie, and Always Artichoke

Punches: Photo Corner

Stamp Sets:  Awash with Flowers, Medallion Background (I’m in love with this stamp)

Accessories: Circle Scissor Plus (Michelle Zindorf used the Big Shot and a Circle Die), White Gel Pen (a MUST HAVE, the card would not

look the same without the white highlights!!!!), Brayer, Sponge, and Old Olive Brads.

I’m not going to go into the specifics on how to do this since this card is completely copied from Michelle Zindorf’s (and I have included a link to her blog above if you want to follow the step by step, and she rightfully asks that others do not post HER tutorials on their sites.)  I am still in amazement that the Circle on this card started off as plain WHITE cardstock.  I have a feeling that Michelle Zindorf will be the inspiration of several projects to come….hopefully as I better learn the brayer technique I will veer into creating my own creations and not rely on complete and utter copying of her art.  I still look at my card and can’t believe that I really made that!!!

Well that is all for now….back to work to figure out what project #3 of 365 will be….

Remember to Shop at My Stampin’ UP! site to help fund this adventure I have taken on.

StampinBetty Out…..

 

One Response to “Project 2 0f 365: My Attempt at “Sunny Day””

  1. Rebecca W Says:

    Hey Betty,

    Thanks for checking out my blog. http://mojomonday.blogspot.com/ is the site I was talking about…give it a shot!
    I’d love to encourage each other.
    You can reach me at rebeccaweil at gmail . com

    Your card is spectacular today. I think you could teach that Zindorf lady a thing or two yourself. 🙂

    Regards,
    becca


Leave a Reply

