Crafty Betty

Project 14 of 365: All Star Birthday May 31, 2010

Today is my husband’s nephews’ birthday.  He has twin nephews who are very into baseball, and play on a little league team.  So when my husband mentions to me an HOUR before their birthday cookout that we needed birthday cards I was like what the heck am I going to be able to whip up in less than an hour (plus I still needed to get ready to go.)  I almost went to the store and bought cards….but I realized that would just not be right since I am trying to show everyone how easy it is to make their own.

As I thought about it I knew I had recently purchased the “Just Baseball” stamp set, but I wanted more that those 3 simple stamps, so I pulled out the trusty Cricut as I have tons of cartridges, and even the Gypsy, that have not seen their fair play time since I started on this self-imposed Stampin’ Up! Challenge.  I decided I was still going to post the cards here on my blog, even though I used my Cricut, because the paper, and the stamps inside are Stampin’ Up!  And since I’m the boss here I win 🙂

Jason and Brian play on a little league team called the Red Sox, and their jerseys look like the Boston Red Sox, so I decided that would be the theme for the card.  I cut the words “All Star” from the Baseball Cartridge, Their initials from the “black letter” cartridge, and “birthday” from the “Stamping” cartridge.  I had also cut out baseball player silhouettes, but I decided not to use them as the card was getting crowded.

Inside the card I stamped “Happy Birthday” from the “Birthdays Count” stamp set, and then stamped off with all the images from the “Just Baseball” stamp set.

Project 14 of 365: All Star Birthday

14 of 365: All Star Birthday

14 of 365: All Star Birthday

If you look close enough you will see that the glue is not even dry yet….but I had to get the pictures snapped, and get on the road because we were about to be late for their birthday cookout, so excuse the messy glue 🙂

Inside of the All Star Birthday Cards:

14 of 365: All Star Birthday inside

14 of 365: All Star Birthday inside

Supplies:

Paper:

  • Whisper White Textured
  • Night of Navy Textured
  • Real Red Textured
  • Yoyo Yellow Textured

Stamp Sets:

  • Just Baseball
  • Birthdays Count (retired)

Classic Ink:

  • Real Red
  • Night of Navy

Other:

  • Cricut
  • Baseball Solutions Cartridge
  • Blackletter Solutions Cartridge
  • Stamping Solutions Cartridge

I’m happy with the results since I only had an hour, and the boys thought it was pretty cool that their baseball birthday cards were homemade.  Even their mom liked the cards and she’s not into crafts….

Well I still have another project to post today, so check back soon!

Hope Everyone had a Great Memorial Day weekend!

StampinBetty

 

Leave a Reply

