Crafty Betty

Project 33 of 365: One Layer Wonder June 17, 2010

Ok….One more card….I told you I had a lot of projects for you today.  I have been so busy crafting, but not so busy about posting 🙂

This last post I have for you today is pretty darn cool, if I do say so myself.  Split Coast Stampers has many weekly challenges, one of them is the Technique Lovers Challenge.  The challenge is to create projects using whichever technique they list on Sunday.  This week’s challenge was to complete a One Layer Card.  I almost did not participate in this challenge.  Some of you might be thinking easy, piece of cake, but not me.  I was thinking how the heck could I possibly make something cool with just 1 piece of paper!!  I have NEVER done a one layer card.  In fact, I often make those darn cards that won’t even fit into an envelope. LOL!!  So this was truly a challenge for me.

Late last night it finally clicked for me.  I had seen a Michelle Zindorf card (I think she might just be my stamping hero!) where I would have sworn this card had 4 layers, but it only had two.  So I cased that card, and even reduced it an additional layer so that it truly was a one layer card, and in my opinion a One Layer Wonder.

What would I have done if I had not found Michelle Zinforf’s inspiring blog?  She has opened up a whole new world of stamping for me.  She is actually a watercolor artist, who has taken her watercolor skills, and her fabulous understanding of color and dimension and has transformed them into a way of helping us crafters feel a bit more artisitc.  Visit her blog and see a tutorial for her version of this card HERE.

Project 33 of 365: One Layer Wonder

33 of 365

33 0f 365: One Layer Wonder

All I can say is wow!  I am always amazed by how well her tutorials work out.  I would have never been able to think up something like this on my own.

Supplies:

Paper:

  • Whisper White

Ink:

  • Cameo Coral Craft
  • Old Olive Craft
  • Versa Mark Marker
  • Sahara Sand
  • Soft Suede
  • Chocolate Chip

Stamps:

  • Bloomin Beautiful
  • Baroque Motifs

Accessories:

  • Clear Emboss Powder
  • Heat Gun
  • Gold Paint Marker
  • Stampin’ Write Markers (Sahara Sand, Blush Blossom, and Soft Suede)
  • Post-It Note
  • Stampin Sponges

Well, that is all for today….Back into the Craft room to come up with more…

StampinBetty

 

3 Responses to “Project 33 of 365: One Layer Wonder”

  1. Rebecca W Says:

    oh my! that is gorgeous! i don’t think i could do that, tutorial or not! amazing!

  2. Sandy Says:

    I was just laughing so hard, tears are rolling down my cheeks as I write this…

    The second item in your supply list is “Gun”.

    LOL!!!

    I know what you mean but would a stamping newbie know. 🙂

    • stampinbetty Says:

      OMG!!!! That is too funny. It was totally a typo!!!!!!! I can’t believe this was posted for a couple days before anyone told me, but now I too am LMAO!!!!! What can I say, that was the last post of 6 projects on that day, I guess my proofreading skills had really taken a dive, by the last project. It is so funny that every time I read over my entries I will find new minor typos, even though I am pretty anal about reading them over before I post 🙂 But I have to admit I almost never proof read the supply lists. LOL!!


Leave a Reply

