Crafty Betty

Projects 42-45: Eclipse Movie Hats July 3, 2010

Hi all!

Tis true, I am slightly behind on my 365 project goal.  It has been a sad time around the house… My grandmother, who was the closest thing I had to a “Mom” growing up has fallen very ill and has “temporarily” been placed in a nursing home.  Personally, I’m not so sure this is a temporary move for her.

First, I should clarify, that I have a VERY lovely, kind mother, unfortunately I did not know how wonderful she was until I was almost 30 years old, as unusual events resulted in my brother and I being raised by our grandparents and ill father.  This is why I say my grandmother was my Mother-figure growing up, and I have to say Grandma did an AWESOME job raising us!!!!!  My brother is now an Electrical Engineer, with a wonderful wife, and beautiful daughter, and they live Charlotte, NC.  I have a Master’s Degree, the best husband in the world, and the two coolest Bullmastiffs ever, here in Milwaukee.  Who could ask for more???  I know sooooooo many others who grew up in situations like ours and took such a drastically different path than we did, and I can only believe that my grandparents must have played a BIG role in this.  They never gave us anything for free, we had to work hard for everything.  They never babied us because we had unfortunate childhoods.  They didn’t have a lot of money, but what they did was make sure we knew we could do anything we wanted as long as we worked hard at it.  They made sure we knew life was not supposed to be easy…to get somewhere in life you had to fight for it, and never give up.  They reminded us that if someone told us we couldn’t do something because we didn’t have the “right upbringing” we had to stand up and SHOW them we could.  Because of our grandparents we knew the world did not OWE us something just because we had it harder than others, and that the only way someone was going to get us down was if we let them.

Four years ago today, grandfather passed away.  Now it seems as though grandmother wants to give in and join him.  I visited her 2 days ago (her nursing home is 2 1/2 hours away).  After spending the day with her it was clear that she misses grandfather terribly (they were married well over 60 years, and since they owned and ran a business together they never spent more than 24 hours apart.)  I thought about how hard it was to think of her being gone, but I also thought about how unfair and selfish it is to continue to beg her to fight and stay here.  She is 86 years old and in constant pain every day.  She has had so many surgeries, and there is no way her life will ever be comfortable again.  Yet family members insist on more and more treatments and surgeries to keep her alive.  It hurts me to think of the pain she is in and the fact that she will never be well again, yet is forced to endure more and more pain, instead of accepting the fact that no one lives forever and it is not fair to “torture” someone.  How could they even agree to giving a frail 86 year old chemotherapy????  When our pets are in pain that we know we can not make better, putting them to sleep is considered the only humane thing to do.  Yet, when our parents and grandparents are in torturous pain, and begging to “go home” after having lived a very LONG and FULL life we pump them with poisonous chemo, and further surgeries just so we don’t have to say good-bye.  SHAME on us!!!!!

I would not wish her agony on anyone, which is why I kneeled beside her bed with her almost lifeless hand in mine and told her how much I loved her, and how thankful I was that she raised me to be the person I am, and with tears in my eyes I told her that if she was tired and if she felt she had waited long enough to be reunited with grandpa that it was okay to go to him, that everyone was taken care of here, and no one would be upset at her for her for going.  She grasped my hands with more strength than I had felt from her in a long time, looked me in the eye, with tears in hers, and said thank you, I love you so much.  It was the hardest thing I have ever said to anyone, I only wish the rest of them would tell her the same and let her go peacefully.

Sorry for diverging from the goal of the blog, but let’s just say writing it out and posting it for others to read is my budget-friendly therapy.  Isn’t therapy all about getting it out and telling someone else so that you don’t hold it all inside.  So thank-you for being my therapist….just don’t send me a bill.  LOL! 🙂

Today’s projects aren’t Stampin Up, but they are too cool to not show you all, plus they were the other time consumer that has put me behind on my 365 goal (luckily I am only a few projects behind, and there are still 10 1/2 months to get them all done).

In total we made 12 of these hats (I think there was one missing when we took the photos.)  There are 4 different “designs” in these hats (hence counting them as four projects.)  There is my hat which is totally different from everybody else’s (completely covered with black and white photos with red satin ribbon.) There is Tina’s hat which has the basic design of the rest, but then I cut some really cool stuff on my die cutter for her to add, and she used red and black tulle ribbon.  Then there are Team Edward, and Team Jacob hats.

I should also be clear that I did not make all the hats.  The design for all the hats (except mine) was a collaborative idea from Tina, her two daughters, and me.  And everyone helped put the hats together.

Projects 42-45:  Eclipse Movie Hats

42-45

42-45: Eclipse Hats

Project 45 of 365: My Hat

45 of 365

45 of 365: My Eclipse Hat

44 of 365

44 of 365: Tina's Eclipse Hat

44 of 365

44 of 365: Tina's Eclipse Hat

The reason I am including Tina’s hat as project 44, even though she assembled it, is because I made the die cut Edward profile, and Cullen Crest for her, and making these die cuts was quite a “project” 🙂  But aren’t they awesome??

More photos of the hats:

If anyone is interested in purchasing a hat like one of these please let me know and we can work out a price and details for you.  I can make hats like these for ANY occasion!!  Email me at betty.ray020@gmail.com or leave a comment below with your email asking me to contact you.

StampinBetty

 

One Response to “Projects 42-45: Eclipse Movie Hats”

  1. Nancy Says:

    First off…. I am so sorry to hear about your grandmother’s illness. You, however, are right in letting her go. My father passed away this past December and letting him go was the hardest thing I’ve ever done. It was the best thing we could’ve done for him, though. As my grandaughter says… ” g-pa is in God’s place now” Love it!
    Second… the hats are adorable! Everything you do, is! You are very creative and talented…


Leave a Reply

