Crafty Betty

Project 73 0f 365: Jungle Baby Card August 14, 2010

This card was also a special request from my Sister-In-Law.  This card is for a Baby Shower where the theme is jungle animals.  Another request, from the mother-to-be, is that she doesn’t want any gender stereo-type colors or themes for the baby/baby shower.  They know that they are having a girl, but want to avoid the stereo-type of all pink and things like “princess” or “spoiled”.  I completely understand where she is coming from….but….I can totally see myself going pink-crazy if I were to have a baby and it were a girl 🙂   I, too, don’t like those “spoiled” or “brat” type themed clothing either.   Unless, of course, it were from the grandparents and it said something like “my grandma/grandpa spoil me rotten”  because grandparents get to spoil their grandkids….at least that was always what my grandparents always said about all the grandkids they didn’t raise themselves.

Well, I think I  succeeded in no gender stereotypes on this card.  When I first completed the card I didn’t really like it.  It just looked so plain and 2D.  So I went back with my Stampin Write Markers and gave it more depth with shadows, and definition on the leaves and such, and then highlights from a white gel pen.  It made a world of difference.  The card was “OK” when it was just paper, but so much better with the added dimension gained with the markers and white pen.

Project 73 of 365: Jungle Baby Card

73 of 36

73 of 365: Jungle Baby Card

Well it’s time to get ready for the concert, and tomorrow afternoon I will be going to that baby shower with my Sister-in-Law.  So hopefully I will find time tomorrow night to post some more of the projects I have sitting here waiting to be blogged about 🙂

StampinBetty

 

Leave a Reply

