Crafty Betty

Project 80 of 365: Black Magic Birthday Card September 2, 2010

So awhile back when I first discovered the Black Magic Technique I stamped and colored soooooo many images, but then they just sat in a pile waiting to be used, so today I decided to use a couple of them.  Not only this, but I also challenged myself to use colors I don’t normally use.  I decided it was time to be BOLD and use some bold colors, since I almost always tend to stick with Earthtones and Neutrals.  I just like “warm” colors 🙂  I do, somewhat, have a mixed feelings over my use of such dramatic and contrasting colors here, but in the end I do like it…I guess that is why they call it challenging yourself.

In case you have not yet discovered the Black Magic technique, it is so cool and so simple.  All you do is take a piece of black (or any darker colored) cardstock and stamp solid images using Whisper White Craft ink.  You then heat set the Craft ink, and when it is set you color over the white areas with either Stampin’ Up!’s watercolor pencils or PrismaColor pencils (I suppose any colored pencil might work, but I have got great results from these 2 types of pencils.)  Remember to use multiple shades of the same color to get results with more depth, and for that extra kick highlight with a white gel pen.

Maybe the reason I like this technique so much is because I get to visit one of my childhood favorite past times….Coloring 🙂

Project 80 of 365: Black Magic Birthday Card

80 of 365

80 of 365: Kind and Caring Birtday

Supplies:

Paper:

  • Elegant Eggplant
  • Cameo Coral
  • Basic Black

Stamps:

  • Kind & Caring Thoughts (retired hostess set)
  • Teeny Tiny Wishes

Ink:

  • Basic Black- Marker
  • Whisper White- Craft Ink

Accessories:

  • PrismaColor Pencils or Watercolor Pencils
  • HodgePodge Kit- Silver
  • 1/4″ Elegant Eggplant Grosgrain Ribbon
  • Fancy Label Punch
  • Tag Corner Punch

Thanks for checking it out.  I have more in store for you so keep checking back 🙂

StampinBetty

 

Leave a Reply

