Crafty Betty

Project 82 of 365: What the Hail??? September 6, 2010

Oh yeah, you heard me right, “what the hail?”  So this morning my husband and I were awakened by the sound of HAIL battering the house, his truck, and scattering  leaves and branches everywhere.  Seriuosly…..Can’t our house just catch a break this year???  And it just figures that this would happen 1 WEEK after finally getting the windows replaced from the storm damage we got in July.  By the time I thought about getting the camera out to snap a few pictures of the craziness the pellets had already melted quite a bit, but you still get the idea of our rude awakening 🙂

Labor Day Hail 2010

Labor Day Hail 2010

Labor Day Hail 2010

These pictures were taken by hanging out of a second story window facing the back of the house….  One of the benefits of those fantastic new windows is that you can easily slide up the screen and hang out the window so all your neighbors (who were also checking for damage at their places) think your nuts… LOL!!!

I did make a pretty darn cute card tonight between running around doing tons of errands with my husband and cleaning up after the cookout we had last night.

I got the Just Buzzin By stamp set over a year ago, but like many of my “super cool, had to have them” sets I had yet to use it 🙂  So for the next few days expect to see a few more cards with this set as I have stamped and colored a bunch of images, but I have yet to use them on projects.

What I love about this card is the use of one of my new FAVORITE crafting tools….My Copic Sketch markers!!!!  I’m not an expert with the coloring technique, but I love it.  Images look so much more dimensional, and you can just keep blending and blending with no worry of crumbling up your paper, and if you get it too dark you just rub a lighter color into it until you have the perfect shade you were looking for.

I do admit, this is NOT a quick card.  The layout is sweet and simple, but to get the Copic coloring and shading right it takes time, not to mention the 20 minutes I spent intricately cutting all the shapes so I could pop them up on dimensionals.  The layout of the card is heavily inspired by a person who uses the name “happyinker” on Splitcoast Stampers, but the ribbon, and the coloring are all mine 🙂

Project 82 of 365: Just Buzzin By With Copics

82 of 365: Just Buzzin By With Copics

Supplies:

Paper:

  • Chocolate Chip
  • Autumn Vine DSP (retired)
  • Close to Cocoa (retired)

Stamps:

  • Just Buzzin’ By

Inks:

  • Chocolate Chip Craft
  • Chocolate Chip Stampin Write Marker
  • Copic Sketch Markers

Accessories:

  • Tag Corner Punch
  • Snail Adhesive
  • Stampin Dimensionals
  • Pop-Up Glue Dots
  • 1″ Satin Ribbon
  • Clear Emboss Powder

Take Care, and Happy Labor Day!!

StampinBetty

 

Leave a Reply

